Interesting Facts about National Flag of India

The first Indian flag was hoisted on August 7, 1906 at Parsi Bagan Square in Calcutta.

The Indian flag was accepted on July 22, 1947, just before India gained independence from the British Empire.

The Indian National Flag which is in use now was designed by Pingali Venkayya, an educationist and freedom fighter from Andhra Pradesh.

On August 15, 1947, the first Prime Minister of India, Jawaharlal Nehru, hoisted the national flag at tLahori Gate of Rehe d Fort in Delhi.

According to the law, the National Flag of India is to be made by ‘Khadi’ which is hand-spun wool/cotton/silk Khadi cloth.

The National Flag is known as Tiranga in Hindi and it consists of three colors and Asoka Chakra in its middle. Three colors represent

The Saffron color -Courage and sacrifice White – Truth, peace, and purity The Green colour-Prosperity Asoka Chakra represents the Laws of Dharma

The width to length ratio of the National Flag of India is 2:3. The three strips of the flag should be equivalent in width and length.

The Khadi Development and Village Industries Commission, have the manufacturing right to make the National Flag of India.